FR EN
Menu

Le château Haut-Lagrange

The wine storehouse, the wine making


THE WHITES

The whole bunches are pressed in a pneumatic double-hull press which limits the contact of the juice with oxygen from the air at the running off.

According to the vintage 10-20% of the harvest is fermented in new barrels. The rest is put into temperature controlled stainless steel tanks. The wine is bottled between May and July following the harvest.

The winemaking technique that uses old techniques but also benefits from new effective equipment allows the grapes to express their character into the wine. The Sauvignon, with its freshness, and the Semillon, which brings the complex tones of honey and lime, flower after several months in bottles.

RED

The grapes ferment in temperature controlled concrete tanks for a couple of weeks. The duration of vatting varies according to the year. It is the art of the winemaker who then has to find the best possible extractions of tannins to obtain a wine with freshness, sharpness and elegance.

40% of the harvest is aged for 12 – 17 months (according to the vintage) in new French oak barrels, which are changed every year. The other 60% is aged in tanks.

In the pursuit of excellence for its wines the team at Chateau Haut-Lagrange conduct small tests to develop its winemaking techniques in order to obtain the best possible result: a wine which is the reflection of its soil, a wine with balance between elegance and pleasure.

FR EN
Menu

Le château Haut-Lagrange

Le chai, la vinification


LES BLANCS

Les grappes entières sont pressées dans un pressoir pneumatique à double coque limitant le contact de l'oxygène de l'air avec le jus à l'écoulage.

La fermentation a lieu pour 10 à 20% de la récolte (selon le millésime) en barrique neuve, le reste en cuve inox thermo-régulée. Le vin est mis en bouteille entre les mois de mai et de juillet qui suivent la récolte.

Cette technique de vinification qui ne fait que reprendre les techniques anciennes tout en bénéficiant d'un matériel performant permet aux cépages de s'exprimer pleinement dans le vin : le sauvignon avec sa fraîcheur et le sémillon qui apportera une complexité miel-tilleul après plusieurs mois en bouteilles.


LES ROUGES

Les raisins fermentent dans des cuves béton thermo-régulées pendant une quinzaine de jours. Le temps de cuvaison varie selon les années. C'est tout l'art du vinificateur qui doit alors trouver les meilleures extractions possibles au niveau des tanins pour obtenir un vin dans la fraîcheur, la finesse, l'élégance.

40% de la récolte va se bonifier pendant 12 à 17 mois (selon le millésime) en barrique neuve (les barriques sont changées à chaque millésime), les 60% restant vieillissent en cuve.

Dans sa quête de l'excellence pour ses vins, l'équipe du château Haut-Lagrange procède chaque année à des tests à petite échelle pour éventuellement faire évoluer ses techniques de vinification afin d'obtenir le meilleur résultat possible : un vin qui est le reflet de son terroir : un vin tout en finesse, en équilibre, en élégance, un vin de plaisir.